Koikkala summer market
Koikkala summer market is a great place to mingle with the locals, holiday residents and tourists. The market sells a wide array of local products, summer market cafe.
Open in the summer time, Sat 11am-1pm.
Address: Koikkalantie 1450, Juva.
Liiterigalleria Shed gallery
Open in the summer time Wed – Sun 11am-6pm.
Address: Vanha Juvantie 769, 51900 Juva. Free entrance.
Ukkolan kellarigalleria, cellar gallery
Open in the summer time 11am-6pm
Address: Ukkolantie 219, 51900 Juva. Free entrance.
Vanha Kilkkilä – old farmhouse
The mainhouse is a typical savolax wooden countryhouse and has stayed mainly same since 1853. In Vanha Kilkkilä there is a coffeehouse with homebaked goods, art exhibition of local artists and lovely garden with old perennials. Really special and lovely place to visit!
Open in the summer time Wed-Sun 10am-5pm.
Address: Tuhkalantie 231, 51760 Nuutilanmäki. Tel: + 358 50 4005485. Entrance 2 €, café customers for free.
Hilduri – a piece of Juva’s cultural history
This jugend-style house was built at the beginning of the 1910th for the doctor in Juva municipality. The house got its name from Hildur Nuutinen, who was doctor Joel Nuutinen’s wife. Today Rajupusu Leader office can be found in Hilduri. There is a flea market and an apron exhibition.
Open in the summer time Mon - Fri 12am-6pm, Sat 10am-2pm
Address: Juvantie 2, 51900 Juva.
Juva Museum, Karelian Museum & Gallery kuninkaankartano.
Museum of cultural history. Juva Karelian Museum exhibits items that Karelian refugees and evacuees who settled in Juva brought with them from their homes in ares that were cede to the Soviet Union after the Winter and Continuation Wars. Gallery kuninkaankartano’s Exhibition with photographs, oil paitings and graphic arts.
Open in the summer time Wed - Sun 11am–5pm.
Address: Huttulantie 1, 51900 Juva.
Juva Church and the churchyard
The impressive grey stone church that looks over Juva was completed in 1863 to drawings by Ernst Lohrmann and Carl Albert Edelfelt. Georg Grotenfelt, the lord of Wehmaa Manor, oversaw the construction work. Having excellent acoustic properties, Juva church seats ca 1 600 people. The altar piece is a painting by Alexandra Frosterus-Såltin. The new organ was erected in 2003. The chandeliers suspended over the centre aisle once illuminated the festival hall of Helsinki University. The churchyard is characterised by the memorial cemetery. The cemetery has a archway designed by Tapio Wirkkala, depicting a soldier standing guard.
The Old Cemetery and the Windmill
Juva belongs to the few Finnish medieval parishes, whose original founding documents have survived. Maunu Tavast, Bishop of Turku, and the peasants of Juva Chapel agreed on the foundation of a congregation 19th January 1442. The previous church and the ones before that were located in the area of the Old Cemetery. The earliest records of Juva's churches only date back to the 17th Century. The Windmill was built in 1866, originally at Lehtikangas in Northern Juva. It was moved to its current location from Vehmaa village in 1953.
Kalevi Hämäläinen memorial
Kalevi Hämäläinen (December 13, 1932 – January 10, 2005) is a former Finnish cross country skier who competed in the late 1950s and early 1960s. He won the 50 km event at the 1960 Winter Olympics in Squaw Valley. He was born in Juva. Hämäläinen also won three medals in the FIS Nordic World Ski Championships with a gold in the 30 km (1958), and bronzes in the 4 x 10 km (1958) and the 50 km (1962). Kalevi Hämäläinen memorial is located in Puistola park.
Named after folklore collector Carl Axel Gottlund (1796–1875), Gottlund's tour (Gottlundin kierros) hiking trail combines historical and cultural interests with stunning surroundings. The trail begins by the Partala Manor and leads via Huttula vicarage grounds to lake Salajärvi, crosses the road to Sulkava and leads on to Pappilan ylämäki. The trail then passes Gottlund's Cottage and leads throught the Old Cemetery to the Windmill by road 14. The hiking trail's overall length is ca 7 kilometers.
Pattoi heritage farm
Pattoi is a typical wealthy farm of the area with traditional farm buildings. The buildings of the farm that represent the traditional construction methods of the area are in original condition. Pattoi was owned by the Nikulainen family from the early 1800s to the 1990s. After the last representative of the family passed away the farm was passed to the State Treasury. Juva municipality acquired the ownership of the farm in 2004. Its aim is to preserve the farm and reconstruct it as a museum.
Open in the summer time Wed–Sun 11am–5pm. Person ticket 4 €. Other times you can make your own walking in the surrounding nature.
Address: Kettulantie 315, 51900 Juva. Tel. (guide) +358 40 566 9047
Koskilampi & Old Soldier’s Cottages
Experience life as it was in the 'olden days' – visit the Koskilampi Cottage at Siikakoski in Kuosmala. There is another similar cottage nearby, the Old Soldier's Cottage.
Rapio Mill is the oldest still working watermill in Finland. Both culturalhistorically valuable building itself and the environment are sights as themselves.
Cafe is open in the summer time 11am-6pm and shop 9am-6pm.
Address: Rapiontie 175, 51930 Paatela, Juva.
Tel: +358 15 454 602, www.rapiontuote.fi
TeaHouse of Wehmais
TeaHouse of Wehmais is the only English tea room in Finland. Enjoy a unique moment in this unique tea room.
Open in the summer time Mon-Fri 11am-6pm & Sat-Sun 11am-5pm.
Address: Pieksämäentie 234, 51900 Juva. Tel +358 40 4101626.